>Bloody Brilliant

>So, when I was preparing this post in my head earlier it was a blurb about words I think should be used more often. But slowly a theme emerged… which boils down to the fact that I ought to be British. I love:

  • codswallop
  • lovely
  • right-o
  • cheers
  • bloody
  • bollucks (that word is just too darn cute to be thought of as a curse word)
  • the phrase “I did do” (thinking Gwyneth on the train in Sliding Doors)

That’s all I can think of right now, but I promise you, 99% of the words I thought up that we don’t use often enough were Brit terms. In addition, I am addicted to British movies (Million, Saving Grace, Waking Ned Devine – does Harry Potter count?), I actually enjoy English food (besides the fact that it’s just plain fun to order something called bangers ‘n mash), I adore British accents (not that I’d go all Madonna and start sporting one after a month or so of living there), and I love BBC news and tv shows (although once they killed off my favorite character I gave up Ballykissangel without looking back – and I still don’t get British humour) – oh! and there’s another thing! I LOVE the u in words like colour, humour, etc. And theatre instead of theater. So… don’t be surprised if I suddenly announce I’m moving to London.

Oh, and the other words I think we should use more often that actually aren’t British? Caddywompus and cartouche. There are entirely too few opportunities to crack those puppies out.

This entry was posted in lists, musings. Bookmark the permalink.