>meme rhymes with mean (sort of)

>Katie (of lost in translation, which is one of my all-time fave reads) tagged me for a meme about FOREVER ago (sorry for just now finishing my post!!) – I have been tagged before and knew what a meme was in theory but couldn’t figure out the actual definition to save my life (besides the obvious – a cheesy vocal warm-up used by fake singers, esp. in movies). This one came with its very own already-affixed, ready-to-go-Webster’s-variety definition, so I am forever grateful to Katie yet again for making me more savvy and techie all at once.

So, definition: As it pertains to blogging, a meme is an idea spread from blog to blog.

Mmm-hmm. That’s all. I’m regretting the bated breath of anticipation I wasted on that one, let me tell you.

Anyway, the rules:

1. I have to post these rules before I give you the facts.
2. Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
3. People who are tagged need to write their own blog (about their eight things) and post these rules.

4. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.

5. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

So… here goes…

  1. I am a Democrat, which I learned watching The West Wing (one of my favorite TV shows of all time). Seriously, that show (and simultaneously reading both Hillary Clinton and Madeleine Albright’s autobiographies in amongst the seven seasons of WW on Netflix rapidfire) made it clear to me that I fall into that camp. Despite fearing my brother Brett’s reaction, I will now admit that I am [mostly] a Democrat. Hurrah. Oh, and the other thing I learned from West Wing? I want to be C.J. Cregg when I grow up.
  2. When I drive I look at every license plate around and make a word out of the letters in it, and they have to stay in the order they are on the plate…for example, DVR471 would have me thinking driver, diver, divert. MVI782 would be movie, moving, marveling. I cannot help it – my brain automatically does this.
  3. I’m glowing today because I was told that my ensemble was fabulous… I believe the words were slinky, urbane, and perfect getup. Yes, that’s all it takes, folks. Flatter away.
  4. Give me a car battery to change, a light to install, some Ikea furniture to put together and I am in seventh heaven. Especially if I have never done it before and have no idea what I’m doing. I sooooo want to take an auto shop class somewhere so I can change my own oil. I mean, how cool is THAT!?!
  5. I was on the Academic Pentathlon team in elementary school and junior high and the Academic Decathlon team in high school, and yes, it is every bit as nerdy as it sounds. To balance it out, I was a sorority chick in college (Alpha Delta Pi, OBIC). I think that makes me cool neutral.
  6. O magazine seriously makes me rethink my life every time I read a new issue. It’s scary how much I love it and how my life has changed as a result of Madame O, which makes me fit into some crazy female pop-psychology-loving demograph, I know. I humbly and mildly-embarrasingly confess – I love Oprah.
  7. Childhood nicknames: Meatball. Skinny Link. Little Bit. Frizzy Ferina. Sir. Sweet Pea (that one my mom still uses – for all four of us kids. I think it’s so she doesn’t have to remember our names).
  8. There was a time in college where I went in for a haircut and said I wanted to go shorter… the lady gave me a look a la G.I.Jane. Shortly before this (or maybe after – who remembers?) a sorority sister decided my eyebrows needed plucking, and suddenly I had about one hair over each eye. I somehow managed to survive this near-bald experience, which I think means I can do anything.

So, now I have to tag eight people…. I don’t know if I even know eight people who blog! Let’s see… Embrace Mystery, Little Miss Eva, Fast Talking Dame, that’s three… Nowhares, Tangents, The Life and Times of Danielle… I seriously think that’s everyone I know. So if anyone reading this would like to volunteer to be my friend and cover those last two slots, let me know. I’d be muchly beholden to ya.

This entry was posted in lists, memes. Bookmark the permalink.