>one

>Not being the outdoorsy type (this runs in my family), I have been on one family camping trip… of sorts. The summer of 2001 my brothers, sister and I agreed to go on a family whitewater rafting trip… but were surprised when we got there to discover my dad’s girlfriend (who we’d barely met) AND her two kids were along. I will leave much of what followed unsaid, but I think you can gather that this was not the most comfortable arrangement ever cooked up. Add to this that Dad thought my sister and I needed to be in the raft with the adults for “safety’s sake” (I was 24) while my brothers got to go with other fun young people AND the fact that I had a sudden realization on this trip that I desperately needed to break up with my boyfriend of a year and a half (who was planning to marry me and who I let myself passively continue to see, though I’d known the whole relationship was a stupid idea before our first date), and it all adds up to be a knee-slappin’ good time. I did enjoy the actual rafting part of the trip and would do it again.. just maybe not with my family.

This entry was posted in stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >one

  1. >wow. that wonderful weekend was 6 years ago? i remember the fun and the chaos and resulted. great way to enter the wonderful world of camping.

Comments are closed.