>They tell you
in the hospital
not to sleep with them
to let them reside in the plastic tub
on wheels
but i couldn’t –
kept her close
curled into myself
though she hadn’t had a bath,
still smelled

and still, now
i would sleep each night
as one
if i could.

who knew
that i would have
a little being
love me so fiercely
so one, she and i
that every synapse fire
speaks her name

This entry was posted in mommyhood, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. >Hi, I’m making the rounds to the MN group on NaBloPoMo. You’re transplanted from the west coast in MN, and I’m transplanted from MN to the east coast. Either way, we both like Minneapolis, my hometown.This post really spoke to me. In the hospital, the nurses told me I was holding my baby too much. How in the world could anyone say that, especially to a brand new mother? I had the thick skin to ignore them and continued to hold that baby soft skin next to mine.SBWMinnesota expat

  2. Chickenbells says:

    >I don’t get how you could not hold her for as long as you can…my good friend sat up at night with her little one, her husband propped pillows all around them…just so she could hold her in her arms…a mother’s love is an amazing thing!

  3. KinnicChick says:

    >Beautifully written. Did you get to have a private room? I shared a room (air force hospital 19+ years ago) with three other mommies and I was the only truly NEW mom. It was quite an experience. heh.

  4. Miss Eliza says:

    >Yes, it was fabulous – our own room, and the hubby had a fold-out couch to sleep on so he could be with us. We even had our own bathroom – what a godsend! It’s such an alternate world experience, all that hospital time – I remember wondering how on earth life could be going on as normal outside. To think that was only a year ago…

  5. Tracy says:

    >wonderfully written and so true.it brings memories back of when my son was a baby. thank you.

Comments are closed.