>giveaway meme!!

>larissa’s meme, coupled with susannah‘s creativity in paying it forward (check out her blog – it’s a new favorite read!!), have inspired me . So, for three lucky people I have a little goodie – just comment in the next 36 hours and I will draw three names to send a lil’ something.

Here are the requisite seven random things about me:

  1. I went to my very first concert when I was in seventh grade: New Kids on the Block. I had a mad crush on Joe McIntyre (and also Doogie Howser, but that’s beside the point). Oh yes, larger-than-life posters of them adorned my walls. But I did not kiss them. I swear.
  2. From 2nd to 4th grade we lived in Houston, Texas. They fully indoctrinated me – I can still – to this day – sing the entire Texas state song (plus “Deep in the Heart of Texas” and “Yellow Rose of Texas”), tell you all six flags that flew over the state AND name the state bird, flower, and motto. It’s sick, I tell you. Texans are weird folks. I lived in California for 25 years and I can’t tell you any one of those things about the state!
  3. I think that if love was something you could eat, it would taste and feel in your mouth like chocolate pudding. The good kind, of course – none of that instant stuff. And yes, I have seriously put some thought into this – it’s a theory I’ve had for a good five or six years now. Give me some pudding and I can really wax eloquent about it for you.
  4. Part of how my friends and I chose colleges was via license plate holders. Seriously, if the vast majority of alumni from a particular college drive jalopies, then just maybe I should look elsewhere because that does not bode well for my future self. So think carefully before you advertise on your automobile – are you helping or hurting?
  5. I’ve known what I wanted to write my thesis on since I was an undergraduate (never mind that I have no need to ever write a thesis): how people change their outward appearance to mirror inner change. For example, the post-breakup hair chop, the way women’s hairdos change as they get older, how men grow beards/goatees/sideburns when they become dads. I find this phenomenon absolutely fascinating.
  6. I have been on safari in Zambia.
  7. I have been in car accidents with both a police car and a semi and lived to tell the tale.

Now that you know all about me, get to commenting, m’lovelies! I’ll draw the winners tomorrow evening at 9:30pm.

***edited to extend the deadline!!!***

This entry was posted in giveaways, memes, random. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to >giveaway meme!!

  1. sweetisu says:

    >#1 – I had NKOTB posters too, I think almost every girl in that generation/age did. But I don’t even remember their names, is that sad or what!#2 – When we were dating, hubby (who is NOT from Texas but went to college there) said to me “I’m fixin’ to come over.” I replied, “HUH???” I had never heard of “fixin” prior to that. I teased him like crazy. He doesn’t say that anymore.#5 – Interesting! And quite true.

  2. Laura says:

    >I saw NKOTB 5 times. I think I was a little old to be a fan. SO SAD. And I too loved Joey. Now he is SO GROSS!(I’m still 12 at heart though!)

  3. Chickenbells says:

    >Ohhh…that’s amazing about the car accidents. I’m glad you survived!! AND Go Texas! (I guess…I’ve lived in AZ most of my life and I can’t think of the state bird or flower off hand…sigh)

  4. >Doogie Howser. Hmmm. I thought I had a pretty good picture of your kind of guy, but Doogie???? You were 12 so I suppose your taste in men matured. Perhaps it was the Pentathalon nerd in you trying to escape. =)Doogie!!! The best man at your wedding would have been that Italian mousy dude whose voice cracked every 3rd word.

  5. Katester says:

    >I went on safari in Zambia too! I mean, what are the chances? I should win simply because of that fact. And because I love you. Even more than chocolate pudding.

  6. >Yes, Texans are weird. I am not a Texan but I’m related to some. It’s the mockingbird, right?I changed my hairdo when I became a mother. Since I quit my job to be home, I decided to cut my own hair to cut expenses. That worked well until I saw a picture of myself. This is a great idea, btw.

  7. Karina says:

    >I’ve seen a lot of these 7 Random Memes, but yours is my favorite so far. I too was a huge NKOTB fan, but Donnie was my guy. Ah Donnie! OH, and I met Joey Mac a few years ago. He seemed like a nice guy.And I love your idea for a Thesis.

  8. sognatrice says:

    >Joey Mac fan here too, and I can’t imagine not still knowing their names. Or birthdays. Or birthplaces.Yeah, I was a bit obsessed.I only got to see Joey in concert many years later when he had gone solo and for some reason actually played a fair near my hometown…NKOTB never came anywhere within 6 hours of me 😦 BUT I did go see him when he performed off-Broadway and got my photo taken with him after the show. Um hum. I was in my mid-20s. Shut up.

  9. Cory says:

    >MY first concert was NKOTB too! I started off liking Jordan, but moved on to Joey as he grew up a bit ;-p

  10. Miss Eliza says:

    >And the winners are…sognatrice!simple blog writer!and….laura!!All right, ladies – email me at confessionsofanovice at gmail dot com with your addresses and I’ll get these little goodie bags off!love,miss eliza

  11. elaine says:

    >These are the most interesting responses to a meme I have read in a long time. Very entertaining. And I’m so glad number 7 ended well!Elaine

  12. Miss Eliza says:

    >It is so fabulous to know that I am not the only one with an NKOTB fascination in my history – I’m in good company with all you lovely people!! Thanks for the compliments – maybe I should change my handle to “queen of random” – i seem to be awful good at coming up with randomness.

Comments are closed.