>What’s Cooking Wednesday

>Every week I think I should do a post for this and then it waits until another day of the week. Well, no more. I love posting recipes, so Wednesday will now be the day!


This week, it’s an old standard that most of my friends have already swiped… my meatloaf. I can still call it that, despite the fact that it never turns out very loaf-y… I get a little carried away with the good stuff added in. 🙂

We tore through ours a little too fast to get a picture.

Elle’s Famous Meatloaf

1 to 1 1/2 lbs ground beef
1 package onion soup mix
2 eggs
20 saltine crackers, crushed
4oz package feta cheese, crumbled
fresh spinach leaves, torn
mushrooms, chopped

Mix all together – add spinach and mushrooms to your own taste (as I mentioned above, I tend to go a little overboard). Put in greased loaf pan. Bake at 350 for 50 minutes or until cooked through.

Mangia!!

*This makes fabulous meatloaf sandwiches the next day, if you have any left!!

** make certain that your feta isn’t too salty. I’ve found Athenos and Crystal Farms are good brands, but others have made meatloaves akin to salt licks.

This entry was posted in food, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.