>5 days??

>Is it true? Only five days till Christmas? I can’t seem to fathom that – I just got an email saying so and thought No way. You’re skipping a week somewhere. But no, apparently I lost a week in there. Yipe!

I’ve sent out maybe half of my cards…. we’re not doing much for shopping this year (do we ever?)… so it’s not like I’m behind or anything, really. I don’t much mind if my cards get there after THE DAY… it’s not like they’re any less enjoyable after the fact! But somehow I still feel Like Christmas snuck up on me this year and I missed something.

In San Diego, we had our rituals leading up to the holiday… Christmas on the Prado. Going to the Hotel Del to look at Christmas lights, see the tree, and get a drink at the piano bar. The Holiday pops concert with the San Diego Symphony Orchestra, or How the Grinch Stole Christmas at Balboa Park. The fabulous Christmas Eve service at Flood. And those are just off the top of my head. Here… we have no rhythm. No landmarks to tell us where we are in the process. All of a sudden, hey! It’s five days till Christmas!

I suppose I’m forgetting Holidazzle and the third floor at Macy’s. Maybe I’ll take Olive to see those tonight. We may be late but we can still get back in the game, can’t we?

This entry was posted in twin cities. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >5 days??

  1. Laura says:

    >Third floor of Macy’s. Now if you were a local girl it would be the eighth floor of Dayton’s. Millions of little Minnesota hearts break at the mention of the change.If they’ve managed not to change the actual display too much – it is good fun.

  2. Katester says:

    >Reading your post, I just thought, “Oh crap, I haven’t done ANY of that stuff this year!” And I’m leaving in three days. Ah well . . .

  3. prairie daze says:

    >don’t know how i wandered here, but with your name being eliza and my youngest having the same, i had to read on…ahhhh, nice to blog-meet another eliza!

Comments are closed.