>What’s Cooking Wednesday – Strufolis

>As I’ve mentioned many times, our Christmas family tradition has always been strufoli, which I believe just means “honey balls” in Italian (my Norwegian husband thought we were calling them strudel nuts).

Here is our family recipe.

WARNING: this is very time intensive. My mom always put us all to work in stations; she would be frying and we would all be seated around the table, rolling out the dough and chopping tiny bits.

Strufoli
2 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar
dash of salt
4 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla

Knead all ingredients together for 5 minutes, then knead in another 1/4 cup flour.
Turn out the dough on a floured surface and roll it out to 1/8″ thick.
Use a pizza roller to cut the dough into thin strips, about 1/4″ across.

Cut each strip into small squares, keeping them as equal in size as possible.
It helps to divide the strufoli into fry batches as you go – I had 8, divided onto small plates.


Fry each batch in 350 degree oil till golden (I use a deep fryer).

Drain them well and set aside.

Fresh fried strufoli are irresistible, and we usually end up eating a ton (thus I make two recipes at once so we can munch to our hearts’ content).

To prepare the strufoli, mix 1 1/2 cups honey, 1/4 cup sugar, and cinnamon in a large soup pot. Heat the mixture till it bubbles and then mix in the fried strufoli.

Traditionally the strufoli, once cooled, are adorned with little round sprinkles. I don’t like how those catch in my teeth, so my mom and I have always toasted sliced almonds and mixed those in, along with mini chocolate chips.

Mangia!

** these are highly addictive**

This entry was posted in food, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >What’s Cooking Wednesday – Strufolis

  1. Larissa says:

    >Wow, those look dangerously delicious. And what a fun family tradition!

  2. >Never heard of it before, but it sounds scrumptious! I’m going to have to try it soon.

  3. Shan says:

    >Those look so very yummy!

  4. Katester says:

    >So . . .since I don’t have the time (ahem, want to make the time) to make these, how much do I pay you to do it for me and overnight to SD?

Comments are closed.