>"Cooking"

>The newest weekly installment in our “cooking” series for preschoolers – salsa. My premonition was that we would be opening a jar and pouring – this, given that the only heat source/appliance we’ve used thus far has been a blender – but was pleasantly surprised to see an actual grocery bag containing produce appear at the end of the table of squirmy kiddoes. And yet, I should learn not to trust such things…

The first vegetable to surface was a cucumber. Mmmm-hmmm, a cucumber. Here, my dear SoCal (and other Mexican-loving) friends, is the recipe my lovely Minnesotan coworker dreamed up:

1/2 red onion
1/2 cucumber
1/2 green bell pepper
1 clove garlic
1 tomato

Have munchkins chop tomato, cucumber and bell pepper up real small. Place everything into blender and puree till brown and milkshake-like.

Oddly, none of the kids liked it. I wonder why?

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to >"Cooking"

  1. Elle says:

    >Note: it’s “cooking” because thus far we have iced storebought sugar cookies, made ants on a log, blended up milkshakes, and made instant pudding. Not so much COOKING. We’ve even taught the kids to make quotation marks in the air when they say it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Frances says:

    >This sounds like so such fun.Wish I was hanging out with you guys ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. >awesome simple recipe! only thing i might add is some chopped cilantro, but my boys still wouldn’t eat it (even tho they are teens, they are *still* picky eaters!)

  4. Weeping Sore says:

    >The kids didn’t like it because you forgot to add the sugar and/or vodka.

  5. therapydoc says:

    >What do kids know?

  6. Elle says:

    >Oh, my friends – I was so tongue-in-cheek with this! It tasted like onion, that’s why they didn’t like it – the ratio was all off. I’ll post my salsa recipe soon so you all can see what I REALLY think salsa is.

Comments are closed.