>anodyne

>Rushing over to me, tears streaming, she says simply:

“kiss”

No matter what ache has befallen her, a kiss from mama makes it all okay.

And I’m wishing, now, that there was a panacea for me, some balm of Gilead that would work like that… or that it were true that a mother’s kiss could heal all wounds. Not that that would change much for me, with my mom half a continent away, though perhaps she could blow some into an old perfume bottle for me, and I could touch the stopper to wherever it hurt. Tenderly. Reverently. And feel better.

But then Olive comes over and says yet again:

“kiss”

and this time it’s for me – one on each cheek, as she always does – and I think maybe a daughter’s kiss works just as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >anodyne

  1. >And, were you at Anodyne?What a beautiful post.

  2. heather says:

    >Love this. You are just so gifted with words, pulling on my heart. Thank you. 🙂

  3. Elle says:

    >not – nope. but anodyne means something to soothe the soul (which i learned at the coffee shop, by the way) so it seemed apropos. heather – your last couple of comments have left me watery-eyed. Thank you so much for your sweet words and encouragement – they mean more than you could know.

  4. Hazel says:

    >wow… this one took my breath away… yeah, maybe a daughter’s kiss works just as well. isn’t that amazing? definitely God’s grace, wouldn’t you say so? 🙂 Cheers!

Comments are closed.