>”One day you finally knew what you had to do, and began” – Mary Oliver

I think I’ve been waiting for that day to arrive, the magical one where I’d know exactly what this space is supposed to be (mommy blog? gardening blog? food blog? introspective space? creative writing?) and so I’ve been hesitant to make it anything. And now, with all due respect to Mary Oliver, I am thumbing my nose at that day. Thpppppptht. Come, don’t come. Whatever. I’m just gonna start posting whatever. We’ll see what emerges.

I don’t know why anyone reads this, anyway – why they come here, what they’re hoping to see, to read, to hear. So who am I trying to please? the mysterious writing gods who are telling me I’m not doing it right? Oh, wait – those aren’t writing gods – they’re my stinking inner critics. Well, we’re going out for coffee together and talk this out. Because if I don’t know what I’m doing, then there’s no way to do it right… or wrong.

So here I am, just doing it.

This entry was posted in musings, quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. >rock on, sister! It’s your space. Do whatever you need to do.

  2. >I’ve found that my blog is just one big jumble-not any certain direction, just a place to pour the contents of my brain. I’ve been feeling all weird about that, wondering if I should just be done cause I don’t know what I’m doing or what “the purpose” is. I’m in the middle of writing a post about that. You just helped me more than I can say. I’m sick of the pressure. I’m just going to write. Whatever random spillage that needs spilling. That’s what I’m looking for. 🙂 you rock.

  3. Tara Sophia says:

    >Good for you for jumping in…and noticing the inner critic doing its thing. I think all creative endeavors take shape in the doing…..if we knew up front what we were doing, the process would be so much less thrilling.

Comments are closed.