>first fruit of the spring

>While my darling husband did send me these luscious chocolate covered strawberries for Mother’s Day, I still made my own dessert. I’m a glutton, I know.

I had just begun my annual reading of Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal Vegetable Miracle, which always gives me renewed enthusiasm for Rhubarb, First Fruit of the Spring. Since mine is always the first thing poking its soft little head up in the springtime and is already, by this cool May day, a tremendous bush, it was inevitable. That I then came upon the sad, strawberry juice-stained page with this beloved recipe on it sealed the deal… and the Breyer’s french vanilla in the freezer was just, shall we say, icing on the cake.

Here’s the fabulous recipe, reprinted from her website:

STRAWBERRY RHUBARB CRISP

3 cups strawberries, halved
3 cups rhubarb, chopped
½ cup honey

Mix together thoroughly and place in an 8″x8″ ungreased pan

½ cup flour
½ cup rolled oats
½ cup brown sugar (or a bit more, to taste)
¾ tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp allspice
1/3 cup butter

Mix until crumbly, sprinkle over fruit mixture and bake at 350° for 40 to 50 minutes, until golden.

Try it, my friends. It’s absolutely divine.

This entry was posted in food, garden, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >first fruit of the spring

  1. Julie O. says:

    >Strawberry-rhubarb pie is my favorite! (don't really care for any other type much). I miss the rhubarb growing all around our yard in Iowa where I grew up before moving to CA. I used to wash it off with the hose and eat it raw probably every day in the summer. Julie O.

Comments are closed.