>cracked

>It’s been pretty quiet around here, and the reason is that the proverbial doo-doo hit the fan when I changed my name and url… I’ve been scurrying around trying to fix broken links and update everything and it’s been a little bit overwhelming, especially for a decidedly non-techie like myself. I’d like to say I’ve learned my lesson, but knowing myself… probably not. I’m sure I’ll spontaneously do something again and have to clean up my mess. But it’ll be a different one next time – I at least don’t repeat the same mess over. Most of the time.

I wanted to share something I ran across the other day – a quote from Leonard Cohen’s song Anthem, which I am sorry to say I didn’t know until today. I know I’ve read this particular quote before but somehow it really struck me this time, hit a particular chord that’s been missing from my song, and I felt that just maybe there was somebody else out there who needed to hear it. So here it is:

Ring the bells that still can ring,
forget your perfect offering.
There is a crack in everything;
that’s how the light gets in.
Breathtaking, isn’t it? I’m trying to embrace those cracks and be gentle with them, and with the cracked whole that is me.

This entry was posted in musings, quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >cracked

  1. judy says:

    >Elle…I have stumbled upon your blogs through seeing your aunt Jill on my nieces (Debbie Schatz) FB page. I cannot tell you enough how much I enjoy your writings, your thoughts, your deep most inner feelings that others may not feel…You are a wonderful sensitive soul..A brief intro on myself…When I was 16 I met your father and dated befor he met your mother..It's funny how one choice can create and change so many lives..I chose to marry someone else, and he met your mom..She is a beautiful person..when she was pregnant with you I use to see her running around sullivan and remember thinking how beautiful she was..I gave birth to my son at the same hospital,the same time as you..I remember seeing your mom and dad standing there looking down upon the new beautiful life, you. ..Elle, I also love to write, actually my great great grandfather was the "Sir Author Conan Doyle..My name is Judy Doyle, I'm on FB..keep blogging and..You were right..Someone did need to hear this blog, this quote today, it was me..thank you. P.S..Hope it's ok that I read your blogs?

  2. From Tracie says:

    >Me!! I'm the person who needed to hear that today.So powerful. I don't know how I've never heard this song before…but thank you for introducing it to me today. I just bought a new domain and changed things around a couple of weeks ago and I'm still finding things that need attention (especially all those broken links!) I'm feeling happy with it even through all the mess =)

Comments are closed.