>pumpkin yumminess

>

Photo Credit
If you know me at all, or have read here for very long, you know that I am a pumpkin NUT. Like, certifiable. I absolutely cannot pass up anything pumpkin – so this time of year is heaven to me. Everywhere you go there are pumpkin pies, cheesecakes, bread, muffins, scones, soups, milkshakes, curries, ice cream, chilis, blizzards, you name it – and I try to sample them all.
All of which meant that I was particularly excited when Alison Sherwood of Post College Cook at the Milkwaukee Journal Sentinel (one of my favorite reads) started Pumpkin Week. A whole week of pumpkin goodness! And when she put out the APB for pumpkin recipes, I had to answer the call. After all, I’m a connoissuer, am I not?
Photo Credit

Today she posted her Reader’s Favorites as a capstone to the week ‘o pumpkin, and my donuts – plus an awesome recipe for Ravioli with Pumpkin Sauce I’ve been wowing people with for years – made the list. The other recipes sound SO GOOD that I know I will be buying a few more cans of pumpkin tonight so I can test them out. I mean, pumpkin dip for cinnamon grahams? GIVE ME A BREAK. I might faint with happiness.

And if all this isn’t enough pumpkin for you, here’s one more recipe from the goddess of butter, Paula Deen. This one is uber yummy and probably seriously heart attack causing and I LOVE IT. Just listen to the name and tell me you wouldn’t too. Pumpkin Gooey Buttercake. Be still my heart.

Pumpkin Gooey Buttercake

Cake:
1 (18 1/4-ounce) package yellow cake mix
1 egg
8 tablespoons butter, melted

Photo Credit
Filling:
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
8 tablespoons butter, melted

1 (16-ounce) box powdered sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Combine the cake mix, egg, and butter and mix well with an electric mixer. Pat the mixture into the bottom of a lightly greased 13 by 9-inch baking pan.
To make the filling: In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and pumpkin until smooth. Add the eggs, vanilla, and butter, and beat together. Next, add the powdered sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and mix well. Spread pumpkin mixture over cake batter and bake for 40 to 50 minutes. Make sure not to overbake as the center should be a little gooey.
Serve with fresh whipped cream.
This entry was posted in food, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >pumpkin yumminess

  1. CM says:

    >Oh my goodness, that sounds delish! I know, don't you just love this time of year for baking.Stopping over from Twin Cities Family 🙂

  2. Pamela says:

    >Hi, Elle and fellow Twin City girl! I just rediscovered your blog after bookmarking it some time ago and am enjoying my visit. I'll definitely be back! I, too, love pumpkin and have been treating myself to Starbucks Pumpkin Spice lattes far too often this past month. I think I'll have to try your pumpkin donuts as they sound delish! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. minnesotamom says:

    >Just made this at your recommendation…delish!

Comments are closed.