daily bread 5/30/11

Well, it’s Memorial Day, so I’m guessing most of you are doing what we’re doing (provided the weather holds up): grilling. Jeff has a ton of chicken and ears of corn ready to be grilled, and I’ve made vats of salsa and guacamole – and for us, that’s about as perfect a meal as it gets.  So, for another day when you’re not lighting the charcoal, here are some good eats:

  • Green Beans with Eggs, Chilies & Cilantro – This was a personal fave, though Jeff dubbed it “chick food” (meaning it wasn’t full of meat and as substantive as he’d like it). The cilantro, walnuts and chilies gave it such a great flavor and with some warm tortillas? Yum.
  • Homemade Gyros – These were flavorful and so refreshing – a perfect warm-day meal. I used ground pork instead of veal (what can I say? I’m cheap), and I would definitely recommend using Greek yogurt for the tzatziki, as mine was pretty watery. Speaking of which, I added the fresh mint and a whole lot of dried dillweed, plus a little salt, to get the right flavor. It wasn’t worthy of eating straight but with everything else it was delish.
  • Creamy Irish Style Macaroni & Cheese – Jeff and I loved this… Olive not so much. I used mascarpone & cream cheese in place of the farmhouse cheese and the flavor was awesome – I love me some Dubliner!
  • Hearty Minestrone – I love love love this recipe, and it was just right for the wacky cold weather we had a few days last week. Simple, flavorful… those green beans make it divine. It’s even better the next day, after the flavors have really melded.
  • Orzo with Mushrooms – So quick and easy I was dubious as to how good it could be – but YUM! (Disclaimer: I added much more butter than the recipe calls for. But they called it comfort food… to me that says “add all the butter you want.” Right?)
  • Meatballs with Peas – Sounded like an odd combination to me but our family loves this one. I have to reign myself in from eating all the meatballs before I get the sauce on & cook it all together… especially once they soak up all that white wine. Mmmmm.
  • Almond Cake – Almond is one of my favorite flavors and yet I had somehow never cooked with almond paste before. This has a nice, crumby crust and a moist middle and is a fabulous breakfast with coffee, snack with tea, or dessert with wine. It hasn’t lasted more than a day in our house, which says a lot for a cake.
And here is an ACTUAL. RECIPE. (please don’t fall over dead).
Once upon a time, when I was working at a church in San Diego, the women’s ministry there did this lovely event called Dish It Up. Once a week for six weeks a woman would open her home and teach 6-8 other (presumably younger) women how to cook. I did it twice – once was an Italian themed class and the other a quick-cooking class. Both were marvelous – there is nothing I love more than being squished into a kitchen, cooking together and then eating something delicious amidst laughter. (Thanks again, Cherie, Roni & Darci for those sweet times!).
Some of those recipes are still in amongst my repertoire, including this one.

Sausage and Corn Quesadillas

Ingredients

  • 1 (12 ounce) package hot Italian sausage
  • 11 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 12 flour tortillas
  • 2 cups Jack cheese grated
  • 1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies
  • 1 (7 oz) package frozen corn thawed
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Directions

1. In a medium skillet, crumble and cook sausage over medium-high heat until well done. Drain & set aside.

2. Mix softened cream cheese and cayenne. Spread evenly on one half of each tortilla. Sprinkle on cooked sausage, cheese, chilies, and corn and sprinkle with salt. Fold over to cover.

3. Preheat oven to 375. Lightly brush 2 baking sheets with oil. Place quesadillas on sheets and brush with oil.

4. Bake until brown and crispy, 10-15 minutes.

This entry was posted in food, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to daily bread 5/30/11

  1. You made my macaroni and cheese. I’m glad you liked it! As for Olive, well, give her time. They say you have to try something 15 times to acquire a taste for it, so things like shallots and sharp cheese will probably take a while for her to accept. 🙂

    • ellestrike says:

      Shaina! Thanks so much for stopping by my little corner of the internet – it made me so happy to see a comment from you 😉 Your mac & cheese was SO stinking yummy… Olive will definitely wise up sometime. What’s funny is one of her fave things ever is your white shrimp pizza on naan bread, which I never thought she’d like… kooky kid.

      Hope our paths cross again soon, you!

      🙂 Elle

Comments are closed.