nectar

my frosty cup, alongside our new fish bowl. Oscar the betta fish hid.

There’s a giant in my garden. It’s a pretty giant, and a yummy one, but it’s rather taking over… so I’ve been trolling the internets, looking for ways to use her up and cut her down to size.

My new favorite: rhubarb iced tea.

I came across a few different recipes in my hunting and realized it came down more to method than recipe, so I went outside, hacked some rhubarb, and made it up as I went along.  And friends? It’s goooood. Olive tried some and her little face just lit up. And just look at that lovely pink color…. sigh. The perfect summer drink. Especially if you have an overgrown rhubarb plant, like me.

Rhubarb Iced Tea

  • Gather 12-15 stalks rhubarb and chop into inch-ish sized pieces.
  • Throw in a pot with 8 cups water.
  • Bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat and simmer for about an hour.
  • Strain.
  • Add sugar to taste. I ended up with about half a cup.
  • Refrigerate.
  • Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to nectar

  1. Jen says:

    Seriously? Yum. Promise to try tomorrow. Such fun today! Thanks!

  2. Nathaniel Haefs says:

    That sounds really good!

Comments are closed.